Carlos Johnson named 2020 Mr. Basketball Award Winner
Tuesday, March 24, 2020

(SOUTHFIELD, MI) - On Friday last week, Carlos “Scooby” Johnson was doing some cleaning at home when he got a phone call from Corey Sterling, his Benton Harbor High School basketball coach. Since Johnson was busy, he let the call go to voicemail. Sterling called a second time. Once again, Johnson let it go to voicemail. Finally, on Sterling's third attempt, Johnson picked up the phone and was glad he did. He was told he had been voted the 2020 Hal Schram Mr. Basketball Award winner. Johnson was officially given the award during a ceremony Monday afternoon. He becomes the 40th winner of the Mr. Basketball Award. Johnson, who signed with Butler University, accumulated 2,949 points in the vote. Flint Beecher’s Jalen Terry was second (2,760 points), Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Lorne Bowman II was third (2,312), Matt Nicholson of Clarkston was fourth (1,678) and Tyson Acuff of Detroit Cass Tech was fifth (1,497). The award, named for the former Free Press sports writer who covered high school athletics for over 40 years, is given to the state’s top senior by the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan.