Commission Seats Voted On During Election
Thursday, November 7, 2019

(UNDATED) – City Commission elections were held in Three Rivers and Coldwater on Tuesday.

In Three Rivers, four incumbents were re-elected to their positions. Mayor Tom Lowery was the only incumbent to be challenged. He defeated Richard Bovee 504 to 247.

First District Commissioner Patrick Dane, Third District Commissioner Christopher Abel and Commissioner At Large Janell Hart all ran unopposed. Dane received 596 votes while 56 votes were cast for write in candidates. Abel collected 622 votes with 10 going to write in candidates. Hart received 633 votes and 17 were cast for write in candidates.

In Coldwater, five seats were up for election on the City Council. In Ward 1, Emily Rissman defeated incumbent Cisco Ortiz 132-77.

In Ward 2, incumbent Chris Pierce ran unopposed and received 306 votes with 10 votes cast for write in candidates. In Ward 3 John Petzko was re-elected. The incumbent received 523 votes and 11 were cast for write in candidates. Fourth Ward incumbent Councilman Scott Houtz was re-elected with 208 votes. There were 5 write in votes cast.

In the race for Coldwater Mayor, incumbent Tom Kramer defeated Dan Corwin 910-499. There were 21 write in votes cast in the mayoral race.

Nottawa Township voters approved an operating millage for fire and emergency services 302 to 174. The proposal was asking for an increase of .75 mills for six years for fire department and emergency services, including fire department administration, operations, equipment and provision of ambulance services.